Scholar of the Year Banquet Held in Brookings

Scholar of the Year Banquet Held in Brookings

Touchstone Energy® Cooperatives in eastern South Dakota and western Minnesota honored some of the area’s most impressive high school seniors Saturday, April 27, during the 22nd Annual Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year Banquet and recognition held at McCrory Gardens on the campus of South Dakota State University.

The event honored the 34 high school students who were chosen each week throughout the school year as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Week. It’s a program which recognizes students for academic achievement, co-curricular involvement, and community service. The students are featured in weekly segments which air on Dakota News Now television and each student receives a $250 scholarship for being chosen as the Scholar of the Week.

Kellen Kueter, a senior at Montrose High School within Southeastern Electric’s territory, was selected during the banquet as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year and received a $1,000 award. Quinton Berg, a senior at Bridgewater-Emery, within Central Electric’s territory, and Trey Maaland, a senior from Clear Lake, within H-D Electric’s territory received $500 scholarship awards. The winners’ names were drawn from among those in attendance.

South Dakota State University President Dr. Barry Dunn was the keynote speaker. Dakota News Now news anchor Erik Thorstenson served as the master of ceremonies.

Touchstone Energy is a network of over 720 electric cooperatives from around the country – including the electric cooperatives in our region – who are united in the four touchstone values of integrity, accountability, innovation, and commitment to community. Touchstone Energy Cooperatives are local, active members of their communities, dedicated to building our communities, and improving our way of life. The cooperatives have sponsored the Scholar of the Week program since 2002. In that time Touchstone Energy Cooperatives have awarded over $100,000 in scholarships to over 600 students as part of the Scholar of the Week program.